Blazed & Confused

Photobucket

I’m sitting here in Myrtle Beach S. Carolina, after 2 days off, listening to irie fmtrying to make sense of the passed three weeks.

This is the first hint of what I was getting into this summer…

Before I go into it, I will tell you that my videos will be sorted out when I get home, and I’ll have some interesting shit for yall to check.

The show goes as such: I play for about 45 minutes when doors open, then Mickey Avalon’s set is opened up by an artist named Beardo. I really get a kick out of this dude’s shit. His first song makes the unsuspecting crowd kind of, well, confused. By the end of the second song, the whole place is with, and by the end his third song he’s got brand new fans. Pretty interesting. Hella rockin.

Following Beardo’s intro is Mickey Avalon, his DJ, Mackey, and his back up dancers. You can find his music somewhere between Iggy Pop and The Beastie Boys. His vibe might seem a little soft when he’s not rapping, but dude is a scrapper.

Just sayin…

This is yours truly with Beardo and The Seedless chicks in Vancouver
Photobucket

I play for another 20 minutes, then the yardies touch the stage in the form of Stephen Marley & Family. These cats are real cool with a cast of characters that includes his brother Julian Marley (who by the way has a WICKED new track with his brother Damien Marley called “Violence in the Streets” which I can link for you if you read the whole thing…). and also dancehall star Spragga Benz.

I play another 15-20 minutes, then the stage is filled with the Snoopadelic’s stage rig, which includes a lowrider bike drum kit, a bass stack taller than the Bassie, weed plants and the players. Snoop Dogg comes out EVERY night to roaring applause and the band is SOLID! I can’t get enough of this set. He is also joined by Kurupt and Daz Dillinger of the Dogg Pound, as well as OG LADY OF RAGE. They smash through all the hitters, and fuck the place up!

Depending on the city, either Snoop closes the show, or my boys from Slightly Stoopid close it out. It’s great because when all is said and done, Slightly Stoopid bridges the gap between all of the bands, and makes the whole evening cohesive. And trust me when I say, Slightly Stoopid is murdering these crowds consistently!

Here’s a couple flix of interesting things I’ve seen. My camera is shitty, but you will get the idea. With the exception of certain cities I can get a mission in, it’s been Groundhog Day for the past three weeks. HUGE venues, HUGE sound systems on HUGE stages with HUGE crowds.

Red Rocks Amphitheater is the most incredible venue I have ever seen!
Photobucket
Photobucket

Voodoo Doughnuts in Portland, Oregon. Big up to Tino for stacking the bowl then bringing me to this place. “The Magic Is In The Hole”
Photobucket
This is the Maple Blazer Blunt, which is a Doughnut.
Photobucket

Sorry Hipsters, No Trick Riding
Photobucket

Mixed Media Leatherface on a Gallery Wall. Wicked
Photobucket

Vancouver is a whole other world. It’s complicated getting in and out, but this place is the SHIT!

And OB was in the area!
Photobucket
Photobucket

Beat Street Records, where I copped some wicked pieces of vinyl including a Aaron Neville “Hercules” 45.
Photobucket

Vancouver, aka Vanamsterdam. This place really got it together as far as making Herbs acceptable.

Photobucket
Photobucket
If this photo doesn’t spell it out. Vaporizer and Fran-couver (With the eye-patch)…
Photobucket
Vancouver Seed Bank is no jive!
Photobucket

A couple other dream shows I would kill to have been at, for reals!
Photobucket
Photobucket

When all is said & done, this tour is one for the books…Coming soon, some footie of Akon joining Snoop onstage, more flix, and some real tales, after the whole thing makes more sense to me. Tour ends Aug. 8th outside Boston at the comcast center. After that I’m goin to chill in Boston for a couple days, then hit NYC. Hit me up!

3 thoughts on “Blazed & Confused

Leave a Reply

